«

»

Print this Post

Panhandle Outdoors LIVE!

The Natural Resource Extension Agents of the University of Florida Institute of Food and Agricultural Science (UF/IFAS) present Panhandle Outdoors LIVE, a series of guided field excursions highlighting unique ecological features throughout northwest Florida. Trips begin in January 2012 and run monthly through November 2012, and participants can choose to attend as many or as few of the individual events as they wish. Information and registration is available at http://panhandleoutdoorslive2012.eventbrite.com, and space is limited, so register early!

The expedition schedule is as follows:

January 18: Leon Sinks & Wakulla Springs

February 16: Florida Caverns & Falling Waters

March 15: Eglin AFB Seepage Slopes & Fire Ecology

April 4: Bear Creek Educational Forest & Garden of Eden Trail

May 11: Perdido River Canoe Trip

June 6: Navarre Beach Tour & Kayak Trip

August 22: Ochlockonee River Canoe Trip

September 20: St. Andrews State Park, Snorkeling

October 11: Hiking at Tate’s Hell

November 14: Hiking at Torreya State Park

Each day starts at 9 am central/10 am eastern and runs to 4:30 central/5:30 eastern. Depending on location, moderate walking, hiking, swimming, and/or paddling may be involved. Lunch, park entry fees, and rentals will be provided for each participant (18 and up only) at a cost of $30. Necessary equipment and clothing will vary based on weather and location, but participants should bring sturdy shoes, drinking water, sunscreen, and a camera to each trip. Transportation to each location will be facilitated by carpooling, and some counties may be able to provide transportation.

For more information, contact Chris Verlinde, chrismv@ufl.edu.

Permanent link to this article: http://santarosa.ifas.ufl.edu/blog/2012/01/24/panhandle-outdoors-live/